About The Spinoff

The Spinoff is an independent online magazine and full-service content agency. Since our foundation in 2014, our current affairs and cultural coverage has been embraced by an audience looking for a fresh perspective on New Zealand. The work of our award-winning journalists saw The Spinoff named Website of the Year at the 2019 Voyager Media Awards.

Lollies – Toby Morris

What is The Spinoff?

An independent Auckland-based media brand and content agency founded in 2014, the Spinoff covers current affairs and pop culture in a magazine style, focusing on features, analysis and opinion. 

In addition to its written content, The Spinoff also runs video specialising in short-form documentaries and docu-series, along with daily and weekly email newsletters, a range of podcasts covering everything from politics to food to pop culture. Its content agency, The Spinoff Custom, deploys the same sensibility on work for brands across their own platforms and social media.

Over the past six years The Spinoff has won and been nominated for numerous awards, including the Voyager Media Awards, the Design Institute’s Best Awards and New Zealand’s TV Awards. It is funded by the generous contributions of its members, along with work we create in collaboration with our commercial partners

Here’s more information on working with The Spinoff on a commercial basis. To get in touch with The Spinoff about our editorial, email info@thespinoff.co.nz

Our Editorial Team

Duncan Greive

Duncan Greive
Managing Editor

duncan@thespinoff.co.nz

Toby Manhire

Toby Manhire
Editor

toby@thespinoff.co.nz

Catherine McGregor

Catherine McGregor
Deputy Editor

catherine@thespinoff.co.nz

Catherine Woulfe

Catherine Woulfe
Books editor

catherinewoulfe@thespinoff.co.nz

Alex Braae

Alex Braae
Staff Writer

alexbraae@thespinoff.co.nz

Leonie Hayden

Leonie Hayden
Ātea Editor

leonie@thespinoff.co.nz

Alice Webb-Liddall

Alice Webb-Liddall
Staff writer

alice@thespinoff.co.nz

Jihee Junn

Jihee Junn
Staff Writer

jihee@thespinoff.co.nz

Sam Brooks

Sam Brooks
Culture Editor

sam@thespinoff.co.nz

Toby Morris

Toby Morris
Creative Director

tobymorris@thespinoff.co.nz

Alice Neville

Alice Neville
Deputy editor

aliceneville@thespinoff.co.nz

Michael Andrew

Michael Andrew
Business editor

michaelandrew@thespinoff.com

Josie Adams

Josie Adams
Staff Writer

josie@thespinoff.co.nz

Justin Latif

Justin Latif
Staff writer

justin.latif@thespinoff.co.nz

Stewart Sowman-Lund

Stewart Sowman-Lund
Live Updates Editor

stewart@thespinoff.co.nz